My college experience PT.1

I struggled with what my first post should be but I’m currently going through the process of officially no longer being a college student. Believe me this isn’t an exciting process for me nor is it a completely awful one. The only word I can use to describe it is bittersweet. Before I give my reasons for leaving, I want to give a bit of background. 

My college experience/journey started in 2012, Fall 2012 to be exact. I had just graduated that summer and was accepted into the marketing program at Marymount Manhattan. I was excited to be going to NYC. I knew that I would have the opportunity to connect with like minded individuals and make great networking connections. That was an important part of my reasoning of wanting to be at Marymount Manhattan coming from South Florida. I wanted to be specifically in the marketing industry with a focus in music marketing, my dream was to work at an indie company such as Glassdoor Records. 

Needless to say it was not at all what I thought it would be. I didn’t mind my major but found that the university I went to didn’t put much focus on their business majoring students. Also, I hate the campus environment and area. The upper east side made me very isolated from the NYC college student experience and was very expensive. 

I left after my first semester. I was extremely stress and pretty much had a cold the whole semester and had a serious case of dehydration that led to me being hospitalized towards the end of the semester. I went back home defeated wondering what I should do. I felt uninspired and depressed. 

You’re probably wondering how I got to being interested in Web development. I’ll get there I promise but what I learned from that experience is that I needed to think through the choice of school much better why the location is great. I needed to pay more attention to where the school places its focus and in this case it was on the arts. 

Leave a Reply

