Pursuing my passion

I decided at 9 years old that I wanted to be a veterinarian; until I realized that didn’t just consist of petting the animals. As I got older I got a strong interest in History and politics. Those interests lead me to wanting to have a career in law. Yes, even at 11 I was already thinking about law school lol. The first time that I even made a choice to pursue that passion came in my last year of middle school. I applied to go to a magnet school. A high school that has a program that gives students a head start in pursuing their future career interests.
I was so nervous that I wouldn’t be accepted into their law program. It’s very competitive and some students are even wait listed. I remember not even explaining to my mom what it was. I feel so determined that I completed the application by myself and asked my mother to sign it and fax it. I was so happy when I was accepted. I was sure that I would learn so much about law and only fall more in love with the law field.
What happened over those next 4 years was something that was a bit different. By my junior year I knew that a career in law was no longer something that I wanted to pursue. The idea of being a lawyer scared me and I was also terrified because it was the first time in my life that I didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life.The amount of aniexty I had was palpable. I spent my last two years of high school despressed, thinking that not only did I let myself down but my family as well.

Until I realized I always had a love of music and in school my best classes were my business and e-commerce focused classes. So when I applied to for colleges I went for a marketing major with a minor in music. But that was only the beginning I eventually changed my mind there but the point of this post is that. It’s ok to not know exactly what you want to do; sometimes the answer is right in front of you in your hobbies and interests. You’re allowed to changed your mind, the challenge of pursuing your passions isn’t a path painted gold. It can be tumtulous but it can also be very rewarding.

Leave a Reply

